Board of Directors

CMA Board of Directors History

The CMA Board of Directors was established in 1959, a year after CMA was founded as the first trade organization formed to promote a genre of music. Initially, the Board included nine directors and five officers. Wesley Rose, President of Acuff-Rose Music Publishing, Inc., and music executive Connie B. Gay were elected CMA Board Chairman and President, respectively. Eddy Arnold and Harold Moon were Vice Presidents, Hubert Long was named Treasurer and Mac Wiseman was chosen to be Secretary. Early years of the Board featured the Chairman and President serving two-year terms in their roles. An organized succession in CMA’s volunteer leadership was established in 2003; four Directors also serve as Officers of the Board, those being Chairman, President, President-Elect and Secretary/Treasurer. This move established a line of succession with the President-Elect moving to President and the President becoming Chairman


Frank Bumstead
Executive Committee Chairman,
Leadership & Development Committee Chairman
  Flood, Bumstead, McCready,
& McCarthy, Inc.
John Esposito
  Warner Music Nashville
Sally Williams
President Elect,
Marketing Committee Chairman
  Ryman Auditorium
Jessie Schmidt
  Schmidt Relations


Jim Beavers
Becky Brenner
  Albright & O’Malley & Brenner Country Radio Specialists
Mark Bright
Eric Darken
  Eric Darken Music
J. William Denny
  Denny Properties
Tim DuBois
  AMP, Inc.
Mike Dungan
  Universal Music Group
Kerri Edwards
  KP Entertainment
Brett Eldredge
Ted Ellis
International Committee Chairman
Karen Fairchild
  Little Big Town
Joe Galante
  Galante Entertainment Organization
Kenny Greenberg
Pat Higdon
  Patrick Joseph Music
Clay Hunnicutt
Radio Committee Chairman
Marion Kraft
  ShopKeeper Management
John Marks
Shane McAnally
  Smack Songs, LLC
Ebie McFarland
  Essential Broadcast Media, LLC
Charlie Morgan
  Emmis Communications
Kevin Neal
  William Morris Endeavor Entertainment, LLC
Brian O’Connell
Membership Committee Chairman
  Live Nation Nashville
Milly Olykan
  AEG Europe
Gary Overton
Ralph Peer II
Brian Philips
  CMT - Country Music Television
Stacey Schlitz
Scott Scovill
  Moo TV
Jennie Smythe
  Girlilla Marketing
Troy Tomlinson
  Sony/ATV Music Publishing
Larry Vallon
  AEG Live
Ed Warm
  Joe's Bar
Dwight Wiles
  Smith Wiles & Company

Directors At Large

Marcie Allen
  MAC Presents, LLC
Charlie Anderson
Research Committee Chairman
  Anderson Media Corporation
Rob Beckham
  William Morris Endeavor Entertainment, LLC
Dierks Bentley
Scott Borchetta
  Big Machine Label Group
Kix Brooks
Luke Bryan
Steve Buchanan
  Opry Entertainment
Tony Conway
Governance Committee Chairman
  Conway Entertainment Group, LLC
John Dickey
  Cumulus Media
Bob DiPiero
  Love Monkey Music
Chris DuBois
  Sea Gayle Music
Ann Edelblute
  The H.Q.
Jeff Garrison
  Cox Media Group
Ed Hardy
Lon Helton
  Country Aircheck
Clint Higham
  Morris Higham Management
Greg Hill
  Hill Entertainment Group
John Huie
Finance & Audit Committee Chairman
  Creative Artists Agency
Brett James
  Cornman Music
Kurt Johnson
  Townsquare Media
Michael Knox
Ken Levitan
  Vector Management
Jon Loba
Awards & Recognition Committee Chairman
  BBR Music Group
Michael Martin
Deb McDermott
  Media General
Mike Moore
  Entercom Communications
Jim Ed Norman
  Curb Records
Jason Owen
  Sandbox Entertainment
Rob Potts
  Rob Potts Entertainment Edge
David Ross
  BossRoss Media
Sally Seitz
Victoria Shaw
Artist Relations Committee Chairman
  Songalicious Publishing
Bob Shennan
Bill Simmons
  The Fitzgerald Hartley Company
Clarence Spalding
Television Committee Chairman
Jeff Stevens
  Jeff Stevens Music
Mike Vaden
  Decosimo Vaden
Ben Vaughn
  Warner/Chappell Music
Troy Vollhoffer
  Premiere Global Production Company
Jeff Walker
  AristoMedia Group
Jody Williams
Compensation & Personnel Committee Chairman
Chris Young


Jim Free
  The Smith-Free Group, LLC
Kyle Young
  Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum

Legal Counsel