Nashville Mayor Karl Dean Presented with CMA Founding President’s Award

NASHVILLE – Nashville Mayor Karl Dean’s many contributions to the music industry in Music City were recognized during the CMA Board of Directors meetings in Nashville today when Dean was presented the CMA Founding President’s Award by CMA Board President Ed Hardy. “Mayor Dean has been a constant and ardent supporter of CMA and the music industry,” said Hardy. “Music is a powerful tool and under his leadership, the Music City brand has achieved new heights as a positive, differentiating identity for our community. The CMA Board of Directors values our relationship with the Mayor, as well as his commitment to make Nashville a better place to live and do business.” The Founding President’s Award was established by the Board of Directors in 1963 in honor of CMA’s first Board President Connie B. Gay. The Award is given in recognition of that person (or persons) who is not currently serving as a Director of the Association, and who in the Board’s opinion has rendered the most outstanding service to the Country Music Association in the current year. At the Board meeting, Hardy praised Mayor Dean’s leadership and passion for Country Music, and tireless efforts on behalf of the format in Nashville, including formation in 2009 of the Music City Music Council, which focuses on economic development by working to recruit entertainment companies and visitors to Nashville; contributing to the success of CMA Music Festival with the opening this year of the Music City Center; and his ongoing support of Music Makes Us and CMA’s Keep the Music Playing, which has donated more than $7.1 million to support music education programs in Metro Nashville Public Schools. Mayor Dean is the sixth mayor of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County. He was elected on Sept. 11, 2007 and was re-elected on Aug. 4, 2011 to serve a second term. During his time in office, Dean has led Nashville through two big challenges – a deep national recession and a 1,000-year flood – and has still made progress on his priorities of education, public safety, and economic development. He also works diligently on efforts to sustain and improve Nashville’s high quality of life. Founded in 1958, the Country Music Association was the first trade organization formed to promote a type of music. More than 7,000 music industry professionals and companies around the globe are members of CMA. The organization’s objectives are to serve as an educational and professional resource for the industry while advancing the growth of Country Music around the world. This is accomplished through CMA’s core initiatives: the annual CMA Awards, “Country Music’s Biggest Night™”; CMA Music Festival and companion primetime television special; and “CMA’s Country Christmas,” which airs Monday, Dec. 2 (9:00-11:00 PM/ET). All of CMA’s television properties will air on ABC through 2021. For information about CMA visit CMAworld.com. Past winners Include: 1963 – Richard Frank 1964 – Joe Allison 1965 – Robert J. Burton 1966 – Pack Ackerman 1967 – Gene Nash and LeRoy Van Dyke 1968 – Owen Bradley 1969 – Johnny Cash 1970 – Frank Clement 1971 – Ken Nelson 1972 – Tex Ritter 1973 – Frank Jones 1974 – Jack Stapp 1975 – Hubert Long 1976 – Roy Horton 1977 – Hal Cook 1978 – Bob Tubert 1979 – Ben Smathers 1980 – Charlie Daniels 1981 – Roy Acuff 1982 – Bob Boatman 1983 – Mary Ann McCready 1984 – Frank Mull 1985 – Jim Halsey 1986 – Merrill Warner 1987 – Paul Conroy 1988 – Ron Huntsman 1989 – Michael Sukin 1990 – Allen Brown 1991 – Bob Saporiti 1992 – Jim Free 1993 – Fred Rappoport 1994 – Helen Farmer 1995 – Cindy Wilson 1996 – Marc Oswald 1997 – Trisha Yearwood 1998 – Pam Tillis 1999 – Martina McBride 2000 – Wayne Halper 2001 – Mayor Bill Purcell 2002 – Brad Paisley 2003 – Wynonna Judd 2004 – Terri Clark 2005 – Blue Country