2013 SRO Awards Winners Announced

2013 SRO Awards Winners Announced

NASHVILLE – The winners of CMA’s touring industry honors known as the SRO (Standing Room Only) Awards, were presented by superstar artist and radio personality Kix Brooks last night during “The 43rd Annual IEBA Conference” in conjunction with the presentation of the IEBA Awards and Hall of Fame Induction in Nashville.

“The individuals honored help to make the touring industry vital to our business,” said Ed Hardy, President of the CMA Board of Directors. “I would like to congratulate each of these deserving individuals.”

Winners were determined in two rounds of balloting with CMA members in the following categories: Affiliated, Artist, Engineer, Entertainment Services, Musician, Personal Manager, Publicist, Record Label, Talent Agent, Talent Buyer/Promoter, TV/Video/Media, and Venue. Ballots were tabulated by the international accounting firm Deloitte & Touche, LLP.

CMA’s SRO Awards 2013 winners are as follows (listed by category):

Business Manager of the Year

  • Jamie Cheek (Flood, Bumstead, McCready & McCarthy, Inc.)


Coach/Truck Driver of the Year

  • Kelley Beck (Blake Shelton)


FOH (Front of House) Engineer of the Year

  • Jeff Parsons (Blake Shelton)


Lighting Director of the Year

  • Steve Richards (Taylor Swift)


Manager of the Year

  • Narvel Blackstock (Starstruck Entertainment)


Tour Manager of the Year

  • Kevin Canady (Blake Shelton)


Monitor Engineer of the Year

  • Brad Baisley (Blake Shelton)


Production Manager of the Year

  • Art Rich (Blake Shelton)


Publicist of the Year

  • Mary Hilliard Harrington (The GreenRoom)


Talent Agent of the Year

  • Rod Essig (Creative Artists Agency)


Talent Buyer/Promoter of the Year

  • Brian O’Connell (Live Nation)


Tour Caterer of the Year

  • TourCats Catering


Touring Musician of the Year

  • Robby Emerson (Jake Owen – Bass)


Venue of the Year

  • Ryman Auditorium (Nashville, Tenn.)


Tour Video Director of the Year

  • Jay Cooper (Kenny Chesney)


The SRO Awards were originally created by the CMA Board of Directors in 1990 to honor outstanding professional achievement within the touring industry.

The first SRO Awards were presented at a black tie gala, hosted by K.T. Oslin and Roger Miller, during CMA’s Entertainment Expo, which was also known as the Talent Buyers Entertainment Marketplace. Ten SRO Awards were presented at the first gala and the number of Awards swelled to 19 before the last were handed out at SRO ’97. In 2011, CMA brought back the Touring Musician of the Year Award, and last year 13 additional categories returned. This year there are 15 categories and the 2013 finalists were announced in May.