Ed Hardy Receives CMA Chairman's Award

Ed Hardy Receives CMA Chairman's Award

NASHVILLE – During today’s CMA Board of Directors meetings (Nov. 20-21), the organization’s Chairman Troy Tomlinson surprised CMA Board President Ed Hardy by presenting him with the CMA Chairman’s Award, which is given at the discretion of the Chairman of the Board. Tomlinson praised the leadership and hours of dedication that Hardy has devoted to the Association since taking over as the Board liaison with the staff in July.

“Under Ed’s interim leadership, CMA had its strongest Awards ratings in four years,” Tomlinson said. “Ed set the bar and maintained a high level of expectation, which was not just met, but exceeded by our professional staff and television production teams. His contributions during this transition have been meaningful and will have a lasting impact on the Association.”

The CMA Chairman’s Award, which was known as the CMA President’s Award until 2010, is given when the Chairman feels an individual or individuals, through outstanding service to CMA, merit the recognition (the Award maybe given to a current Board member or non-Board member).

Hardy has been a member of the CMA Board of Directors for eight years, serving on every committee. He was named President-Elect in 2012 and assumed the role of President on Jan. 1. He will become Chairman of the Board on Jan. 1, 2014.

A graduate of Kent State University with a bachelor’s degree in communications/journalism, Hardy was President of Scripps Networks Interactive’s Great American Country (GAC) Television Network from 2004 until 2012, where he led the successful integration of GAC into Scripps Networks. The move marked his return to Scripps, after having spent nine years as Vice President of the Scripps-owned Country–formatted radio properties, KUPL AM/FM in Portland, Ore.

Hardy broke into the radio business in 1968 at WJW Radio, Cleveland. His management career began at KERE Denver in 1974, first as General Sales Manager, then General Manager. Later he became VP/General Manager of WCII, Louisville. By 1994, he employed his innovative management skills as founder, President and CEO of Deschutes River Broadcasting in Portland, Ore. Hardy later merged his company into Citadel Broadcasting and served as President – West Region for Citadel. He then became CEO and President of MeasureCast, Inc. (now SelectMetrics, Inc.). For 20 years, following his active duty service with the United States Army, he was an active member of the U.S. Army Reserves, rising to the rank of Major. Hardy currently serves as Chairman of the Board for the Nashville Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Past Recipients (President’s Award now CMA Chairman’s Award):
1965    President Tex Ritter to C.L. (Leo) Fender
1969    President Bill Williams to Jack Stapp and Irving
1970    President Harold Hitt to Frank Jones
1972    President Bill Farr to A. Torio and Bob Neal
1973    President Frances Preston to Irving Waugh
1975    President Jerry Bradley to Terry Davis
1976    President Ron Bledsoe to Gene Nash
1977    President Dan McKinnon to Johnny Cash
1981    President Tandy Rice to David Lieberman, Jerry
Bradley, and Norm Anderson
1984    President Dick McCullough to the Oak Ridge Boys
1985    President Dick McCullough to Willie Nelson
1986    President Rick Blackburn to subcommittee
chairmen: Phil Graham, Ted Hacker, Mary Ann
McCready, and Jack Weston
1987    President Al Greenfield to Dick McCullough
1991    President Thom Schuyler to Kitty Moon
1992    President Roy Wunsch to Don Schlitz
1993    President Paul Corbin to Jim Foglesong
1995    President Tony Conway to Bob Saporiti and
Wayne Halper
1996    President Kitty Moon to Rick Blackburn and Jeff
1997    President Tim DuBois to Bud Wendell
1998    President Tim DuBois to David Ross
1999    President Bud Wendell to Jerry Bradley
2000    President Luke Lewis to Tony Conway
2003    President Charlie Anderson to Kix Brooks
2004    President Kix Brooks to Robert Deaton
2005    President Victor Sansone to Kitty Moon Emery
2006    President Mike Dungan to Charlie Anderson
2007    President Clarence Spalding to Walter Miller
2008    President Randy Goodman to Joe Galante
2009    President Steve Moore to Clarence Spalding
2010    Chairman Steve Buchanan to Jim Free and Randy
2011    Chairman Steve Buchanan to Mayor Karl Dean

For more information, visit CMAworld.com.

About CMA: Founded in 1958, the Country Music Association was the first trade organization formed to promote a type of music. In 1961, CMA created the Country Music Hall of Fame to recognize artists and industry professionals with Country Music’s highest honor. More than 7,000 music industry professionals and companies from around the globe are members of CMA. The organization’s objectives are to serve as an educational and professional resource for the industry and advance the growth of Country Music around the world. This is accomplished through CMA’s core initiatives: the CMA Awards, which annually recognize outstanding achievement in the industry; the CMA Music Festival, which benefits music education and is taped for a three-hour TV special; and “CMA Country Christmas,” featuring Country artists performing original music and Christmas classics for broadcast on Monday, Dec. 2 (9:00-11:00 PM/ET).  All of CMA’s television properties will air on the ABC Television network through 2021.