It's Balloting Season at CMA!

It's Balloting Season at CMA!

Ballot Schedule for “The 48th Annual CMA Awards” Announced; CMA Now Accepting Submissions for the 2014 CMA Broadcast Awards; Nominations for the CMA SRO Awards Underway 

NASHVILLE – CMA balloting season is here! The Country Music Association is now accepting online submissions for the 2014 CMA Broadcast Awards for Broadcast Personality, Station, and National Broadcast Personality of the Year at

“One of CMA’s pillars as a trade association is to recognize and honor excellence in the format,” said Sarah Trahern, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “We take this part of our mission very seriously and constantly strive to maintain the highest standards in balloting and voting for the many honors presented by CMA.”

Categories for submission include Broadcast Personality in four different market sizes (major, large, medium, and small) as well as CMA National Broadcast Personality of the Year. To submit an entry, CMA member radio stations and broadcast personalities in the U.S. and Canada should log on to, where guidelines and instructions for entries are posted. The site will continue to accept submissions until Friday, June 27 (5:00 PM/CT).

All entries must reflect performances and events between June 1, 2013 and May 31, 2014. CMA’s panel of judges, which includes distinguished radio and industry professionals, will be able to view and evaluate each entry online.

CMA Broadcast Award winners will be notified in early October and recognized at “The 48th Annual CMA Awards,” which will be held later this year in Nashville. The annual gala, which is known as “Country Music’s Biggest Night™,” will be broadcast live on the ABC Television Network. For more information about CMA Broadcast Award entries please contact Brandi Simms, CMA Senior Director of Membership and Balloting, at

The 2014 CMA Awards nominees and winners are determined by more than 7,000 professional members of CMA, which was the first trade organization formed to promote an individual genre of music in 1958. The eligibility period for the 2014 CMA Awards is July 1, 2013 to June 30, 2014. All voting for “The 48th Annual CMA Awards” will be conducted online.

The first ballot and instructions will be emailed Thursday, July 3 to CMA members in good standing who are eligible to vote. Voting for the first ballot closes Monday, July 14 (5:00 PM/CT).

The second ballot will be emailed to CMA members Tuesday, Aug. 12. Voting for the second ballot closes Friday, Aug. 22 (5:00 PM/CT). The final nominees in each of the 12 categories will be announced in early September.

Winners of “The 48th Annual CMA Awards” will be determined in a final round of voting by eligible voting CMA members. The third and final ballot will be emailed to CMA members Thursday, Oct. 9. Voting for the CMA Awards final ballot ends Monday, Oct. 27 (5:00 PM/CT). All balloting is officiated by the international accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP.

The first “CMA Awards Banquet and Show” was held in 1967. The following year, the CMA Awards was broadcast on television for the first time – making it the longest running, annual music awards program on network TV. The CMA Awards have aired on ABC since 2006. ABC will be the network home of the CMA Awards and CMA’s other two television properties, “CMA Music Festival: Country’s Night to Rock” and “CMA Country Christmas,” through 2021.

Balloting for CMA’s popular touring industry honors known as the SRO (Standing Room Only) Awards began with a nominating round on April 22. The final ballot will be emailed to eligible CMA members Tuesday, June 3. Voting for the SRO Awards final ballot ends Friday, June 20 (5:00 PM/CT).

CMA members in the following categories: Advertising/Public Relations/Media, Affiliated, Artist, Entertainment Services, Marketing/Digital, Musician, Personal Manager, Record Label, Talent Agent, Talent Buyer/Promoter, Touring, and Venue are eligible to vote for the CMA SRO Awards. Ballots will be tabulated by the international accounting firm Deloitte & Touche LLP.

The SRO Award categories will be as follows:

  • Business Manager of the Year
  • Coach/Truck Driver of the Year
  • FOH (Front of House) Engineer of the Year
  • Lighting Director of the Year
  • Manager of the Year
  • Monitor Engineer of the Year
  • Production Manager of the Year
  • Publicist of the Year
  • Talent Agent of the Year
  • Talent Buyer/Promoter of the Year
  • Tour Caterer of the Year
  • Tour Manager of the Year
  • Touring Musician of the Year
  • Tour Video Director of the Year
  • Venue of the Year

The SRO Awards were originally created by the CMA Board of Directors in 1990 to honor outstanding professional achievement within the touring industry.

The first SRO Awards were presented at a black tie gala, hosted by K.T. Oslin and Roger Miller, during CMA’s Entertainment Expo, which was also known as the Talent Buyers Entertainment Marketplace and later were renamed SRO, international entertainment expo. Ten SRO Awards were presented at the first gala and the number of Awards swelled to 19 before the last were handed out at SRO ’97. Reinstated om 2012, the 2014 SRO Awards will be presented later this year.

Country Music Association: More than 7,000 music industry professionals and companies around the globe are members of CMA. Formed in 1958 as the first trade association for a single genre of music, the organization’s objectives are to serve as an educational and professional resource for the industry while advancing the growth of Country Music around the world. This is accomplished through CMA initiatives including  CMA Music Festival and the companion CMA Music Festival television special; the CMA Awards, recognized as Country Music’s Biggest Night™; and CMA’s latest television venture “CMA Country Christmas.” All of CMA’s TV properties air on the ABC Television Network through 2021. For information about CMA visit