CMA Announces 2014 Broadcast Awards Finalists

CMA Announces 2014 Broadcast Awards Finalists

Little Big Town and Darius Rucker Make Announcement From New York City

NASHVILLE – CMA announced the 2014 CMA Broadcast Awards finalists for Radio Personality and Station of the Year today during a press conference in New York City. The finalists were announced by reigning CMA Vocal Group of the Year Little Big Town and CMA Award winner Darius Rucker from the Best Buy Theater in Times Square.

The CMA Broadcast Award winners will be notified in mid-October and will be acknowledged at “The 48th Annual CMA Awards,” to be held Wednesday, Nov. 5 (8:00-11:00 PM/ET) and broadcast live by the ABC Television Network from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville. Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood return to host “Country Music’s Biggest Night™” for the seventh time.

“Country radio stations are the heartbeat of our format,” said Sarah Trahern, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “These stations and personalities are the cheerleaders for our artists and their music and play a vital role in the success of the genre.”

Normally, five finalists are selected for CMA Broadcast Personality and CMA Radio Station of the Year in four categories: Small, Medium, Large, and Major Market. However, this year there was a tie in the Major Market Broadcast Personality of the Year category, resulting in six nominees.

The categories are established by market size based on population as ranked by Arbitron. Entries for Broadcast Personality of the Year are judged on aircheck, ratings, community involvement, and biographical information. Candidates for Station of the Year are judged on aircheck, ratings history, community involvement, and format leadership.

Three finalists are selected for National Broadcast Personality of the Year. To be eligible, candidates must be syndicated, short-form, hub voice-tracking, and satellite personalities heard in at least three markets with a minimum of 40 shows per year.

CMA members who are full-time, on-air personalities and CMA member radio stations in the United States and Canada were eligible to enter. The entries are judged by a panel of distinguished broadcast professionals, representing all market sizes and regions.

An aggregate score of the first round of judging and the second round, which is done by a different panel of judges, determines the winners. The international accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP tabulates scoring by the judges. CMA Broadcast Award winners are not eligible to enter in consecutive years; therefore, those who received trophies in 2013 were not eligible in 2014.


  • “The Big D and Bubba Show” (Derek Haskins and Sean Powell) – Compass Media Networks
  • “Country Countdown USA” (Lon Helton) –  Westwood One
  • “zMax Racing Country” (Paul Schadt and Cathy Martindale) – Performance Racing Network

Major Market

  • “K102 Wakeup Crew” (Donna Valentine, Mike Mussman, and Patrick Knight) – KEEY, Minneapolis-St. Paul, Minn.
  • “Laurie DeYoung Show” (Laurie DeYoung, Mark Williams, Jeff St. Pierre, and Claire Scattergood) – WPOC, Baltimore, Md.
  • “The Michael J Show” (Michael J. Stuehler) – WMZQ, Washington, D.C.
  • “Paul Schadt and Meg in the Morning” (Paul Schadt, Meg Butterly, and Geof Knight) – WKKT, Charlotte-Gastonia, N.C./ Rock Hill, S.C.
  • “The Q Morning Zoo” (Tim Tuttle, Kevin Kline, and Erica Rico) – KKBQ, Houston-Galveston, Texas
  • “Razz on the Radio” (Mark Razz) – WXTU, Philadelphia, Pa.

Large Market

  • “Chris Carr & Company” (Chris Carr, Jeff “Maverick” Bolen, and Jason Statt) – WUBE, Cincinnati, Ohio
  • “FM 106.1 Morning Show with Karen and Scott” (Karen Dalessandro and Scott Dolphin) – WMIL, Milwaukee-Racine, Wis.
  • “Jim, Deb & Kevin” (Jim Denny, Deborah Honeycutt, and Kevin Freeman) – WFMS, Indianapolis, Ind.
  • “KJ and Friends with Randy and Jamie” (Randy Carroll and Jamie Martin) – KAJA, San Antonio, Texas
  • Lisa McKay – WQDR, Raleigh-Durham, N.C.

Medium Market

  • “97 Country Breakfast Club” (Roger Todd, Tom O’Brien, Melissa Moran, and Dale Sellers) – WPCV, Lakeland-Winter Haven, Fla.
  • Buzz Jackson – KIIM, Tucson, Ariz.
  • “Electric Barnyard” (William Bertschinger and Cory Myers) – WWYZ, Hartford-New Britain-Middletown, Conn.
  •  “Kevin Richards Show” (Kevin Richards) – WGNA, Albany-Schenectady-Troy, N.Y.
  • “The Kat 103.7 Morning Show” (Steve Lundy and Gina Melton) – KXKT, Omaha, Neb./Council Bluffs, Iowa

Small Market

  • “Barrett, Fox & Berry” (Bill Barrett, Tim Fox, and Tracy Berry) – KKNU, Eugene-Springfield, Ore.
  • Craig Allen – WHWY, Ft. Walton Beach-Destin, Fla.
  • “Dex and Mo Show” (Bill “Dex” Poindexter and Melissa “Mo” Turner) – WUSY, Chattanooga, Tenn.
  • “Gator & The Styckman” (Gator Harrison, Greg “Styckman” Owens, and Kyle Croft) – WUSY, Chattanooga, Tenn.
  •  “Scotty & Cara in the Morning” (Scotty Cox and Cara Denis) – KCLR, Columbia, Mo.

Major Market

CKRY – Calgary,  Alta.
KKBQ – Houston-Galveston, Texas
KYGO – Denver-Boulder, Colo.
WIL – St. Louis, Mo.
WKLB – Boston, Mass.

Large Market

KAJA – San Antonio, Texas
WMIL – Milwaukee-Racine, Wis.
WQDR – Raleigh-Durham, N.C.
WUBE – Cincinnati, Ohio
WWKA – Orlando, Fla.

Medium Market

KATM – Stockton, Calif.
KUZZ – Bakersfield, Calif.
KXKT – Omaha, Neb./Council Bluffs, Iowa
WKSJ – Mobile, Ala.
WQMX – Akron, Ohio

Small Market

KCLR – Columbia, Mo.
KKNU – Eugene-Springfield, Ore.
WHWY – Ft. Walton Beach-Destin, Fla.
WKSF – Asheville, N.C.
WUSY – Chattanooga, Tenn. 

“The 48th Annual CMA Awards” is a production of the Country Music Association. Robert Deaton is the Executive Producer and Paul Miller is the Director. The CMA Awards will be shot in high definition and broadcast in 720 Progressive (720P), ABC’s selected HDTV format, with 5.1 channel surround sound.

Chevrolet™ is the Official Ride of Country Music.