CMA Elects New Board of Directors

CMA Elects New Board of Directors

NASHVILLE – The Country Music Association announced today the new Board of Directors. The appointments are effective on Jan. 1, 2014.

Troy Tomlinson, President and CEO of Sony/ATV Music Publishing Nashville, completes his term as Chairman of the CMA Board and current CMA Board President Ed Hardy assumes that post. President Elect, Frank Bumstead, Chairman of Flood, Bumstead, McCready, & McCarthy, Inc., becomes President of the Board. John Esposito, President & CEO of Warner Music Nashville, has been named President-Elect. Jessie Schmidt, President of Schmidt Relations, will become the new Secretary/Treasurer of the CMA Board.

“This year has been a very active and demanding year on many fronts for our Board leadership,” said Hardy. “Troy Tomlinson has been an inspiring, thoughtful and passionate leader and friend to me and the CMA Board this year. We have had many exciting successes in 2013 and I am so excited to be able to follow Troy and work closely with my friend, Frank Bumstead and our new CEO, Sarah Trahern, as we collaborate with our great Board to take the CMA to new heights.”

“This is a very exciting time to serve as President of the industry’s premier trade association,” said Bumstead. “CMA is at a pivotal point with new staff leadership and unequaled success with our core initiatives. I’m looking forward to the future and serving our industry alongside my good friend Ed Hardy.”

Following is a list of 2014 CMA Directors and Directors at Large:

Directors By Membership Category
Carryover Directors, who are serving the second year of a two-year term, are followed by newly-elected Directors (indicated in bold).

Advertising Agency/PR/Marketing
Jeff Walker, The AristoMedia Group
Ebie McFarland, Essential Broadcast Media, LLC

Steve Buchanan, Ryman Hospitality Properties, Inc.
Tim DuBois, AMP, Inc.

Kix Brooks, Don’t Miss This, LLC
Karen Fairchild, Little Big Town

Broadcast Programming/Air Talent
Mike Moore, Entercom Communications, Portland, Ore.
Becky Brenner, Albright & O’Malley & Brenner Country Radio Specialists, Seattle, Wash.

Tom Douglas, Sony/ATV Music Publishing
Shane McAnally, Smack Songs, LLC

Entertainment Services
Frank Bumstead, Flood, Bumstead, McCready & McCarthy, Inc.
Dwight Wiles, Smith Wiles & Company

Rob Potts, Rob Potts Entertainment Edge, Five Dock, Australia
Milly Olykan, AEG Europe, London, United Kingdom

Music Publisher/Performing Rights Organization
Jody Williams, BMI
Pat Higdon, Patrick Joseph Music

Charles Judge, Charles Judge Music
Glenn Worf

Personal Manager
Clarence Spalding, Spalding Entertainment
Marion Kraft, ShopKeeper Management

Jeff Stevens, Jeff Stevens Music

Radio Management
Natalie Conner, 92.5 WXTU, Philadelphia
Charlie Morgan, Emmis Communications, Indianapolis, Ind.

Record Company
John Esposito, Warner Music Nashville
Gary Overton, Sony Music Nashville

Talent Agent
Kevin Neal, Buddy Lee Attractions

Talent Buyer/Promoter
Tony Conway, Conway Entertainment Group, LLC
Larry Vallon, AEG Live, Los Angeles, Calif.

Lon Helton, Country Aircheck
Brian Philips, CMT/MTV Networks/Viacom

Sally Williams, Ryman Auditorium           

Lifetime Directors
J. William Denny, Denny Properties
Ralph Peer II, peermusic

Ex-Officio Members
Jim Free, The Smith-Free Group, LLC, Washington, D.C.
Kyle Young, Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum

Directors at Large:
Charlie Anderson, Anderson Media Corporation, Knoxville, Tenn.
Rob Beckham, William Morris Endeavor Entertainment, LLC
Dierks Bentley
Scott Borchetta, Big Machine Label Group
Luke Bryan
Charlie Cook, West Virginia Radio Corp., Morgantown, W.Va.
Jay DeMarcus, Rascal Flatts
John Dickey, Cumulus Media, Atlanta, Ga.
Bob  DiPiero, Love Monkey Music
Chris DuBois, Sea Gayle Music
Mike Dungan, Universal Music Group Nashville
Ann Edelblute, The H.Q.
Kerri Edwards, Red Light Management
Ted Ellis, CMT Canada, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Joe Galante, Galante Entertainment Organization
Ed Hardy
Clint Higham, Morris Artists Management, LLC
John Huie, Creative Artists Agency
Clay Hunnicutt, Clear Channel Communications
Brett James, Cornman Music
Kurt Johnson, Townsquare Media, Dallas, Texas
Michael Knox, peermusic
Darin Lashinsky, National Shows 2
Ken Levitan, Vector Management
Jon Loba, Broken Bow Records
Michael Martin, ASCAP
Deb McDermott, Media General, Inc.
Brian O’Connell, Live Nation
Jason Owen, Sandbox Entertainment
David Ross, BossRoss Media
Stacey Schlitz, Schlitz Law
Jessie Schmidt, Schmidt Relations
Sally Seitz, iTunes
Victoria Shaw,  Songalicious Publishing
Bob Shennan, BBC, London
Bill Simmons, The Fitzgerald Hartley Company
Troy Tomlinson, Sony/ATV Music Publishing
Mike Vaden, Decosimo Vaden
Ben Vaughn, Warner/Chappell Music
Ed Warm, Joe’s Bar, Chicago, Ill.
Chris Young

Click for photos of Board of Directors history.