CMA Elects New Board of Directors

CMA Elects New Board of Directors

Appointments Take Effect on Jan. 1, 2013

NASHVILLE – The Country Music Association announced today the new Board of Directors. For the first time, CMA conducted the annual Board of Directors election online. The new Board year begins Jan. 1, 2013.

Gary Overton, Sony Music Entertainment Nashville Chairman and CEO, completes his term as Chairman of the CMA Board and current CMA Board President Troy Tomlinson, President and CEO of Sony/ATV Music Publishing Nashville, assumes that post. President Elect, Ed Hardy, President of Great American Country (GAC), becomes President of the Board, and Frank Bumstead, Chairman of Flood, Bumstead, McCready, & McCarthy, Inc., has been named President-elect. John Esposito, President Warner Music Nashville, will become the new Secretary/Treasurer of the CMA Board.

“It has been both a pleasure and a learning experience for me to serve alongside Gary over this past year,” Tomlinson said. “I look forward to working with Ed as he takes on his new role as President and we begin another exciting year for CMA.”

“I am proud, and deeply honored to have been selected by my peers in the Country Music industry for a leadership position on the CMA Board of Directors,” said Hardy. “I have enjoyed working under Gary Overton’s leadership, look forward to working with and learning from Troy Tomlinson and with Steve Moore and his talented team this next year to continue to grow the Country Music industry and genre to new levels.”

Following is a list of 2013 CMA Directors and Directors at Large:

Directors By Membership Category
Carryover Directors, who are serving the second year of a two-year term, are followed by newly-elected Directors (indicated in bold).

Advertising Agency/PR/Marketing
Mary Hilliard Harrington, The GreenRoom PR
Jeff Walker, The AristoMedia Group

Joe Galante, Galante Entertainment Organization
Steve Buchanan, Grand Ole Opry Group

Luke Bryan
Kix Brooks, Don’t Miss This, LLC

Broadcast Programming and Air Talent
Blair Garner, After Midnite with Blair Garner, Premiere
Mike Moore, Entercom Communications, Portland, OR

Brett James, Cornman Music
Tom Douglas, Sony/ATV Music Publishing

Entertainment Services
Stacey Schlitz, Schlitz Law
Frank Bumstead, Flood, Bumstead, McCready, &
McCarthy, Inc.

Bob Shennan, BBC, London
Rob Potts, Rob Potts Entertainment Edge, Five Dock,

Music Publisher/PRO
Troy Tomlinson, Sony/ATV Music Publishing
Jody Williams, BMI

Biff Watson, Biff-Bangs Productions, Inc.
Kenny Greenberg

Personal Manager
Bill Simmons, The Fitzgerald Hartley Company
Clarence Spalding, Spalding Entertainment

Jeff Stevens, Jeff Stevens Music

Radio Management
Clay Hunnicutt, Clear Channel Communications
Natalie Conner, Vice President/General Manager, WXTU,
Philadelphia, Penn.

Record Company
Mike Dungan, Universal Music Group Nashville
John Esposito, Warner Music Nashville

Talent Agent
Rob Beckham, William Morris Endeavor Entertainment,

Talent Buyer/Promoter
Brian O’Connell, Live Nation
Tony Conway, Conway Entertainment Group, LLC

Ed Hardy, Great American Country
Lon Helton, Country Aircheck

Sally Williams, The Ryman Auditorium

Lifetime Directors
J. William Denny
Ralph Peer II, peermusic

Ex-Officio Members
Jim Free, The Smith-Free Group, Washington, D.C.
Kyle Young, Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum

Directors at Large:
Charlie Anderson, Anderson Media Corporation, Knoxville, Tenn.
Scott Borchetta, Big Machine Label Group
Becky Brenner, Albright & O’Malley & Brenner Country Radio Specialists, Seattle, Wash.
Randy Chase, Cox Media Group, San Antonio, Texas
Pat Collins, SESAC
Charlie Cook, West Virginia Radio Corp., Morgantown, W.Va.
Jay DeMarcus, Rascal Flatts
Bob DiPiero, Love Monkey Music
Chris DuBois, Sea Gayle Music
Tim DuBois, Tim DuBois Entertainment
Ann Edelblute, XIX Entertainment
Kerri Edwards, Red Light Management
Ted Ellis, CMT Canada, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Karen Fairchild, Little Big Town
Randy Goodman
John Hamlin, CMT – Country Music Television
Mark Hamilton, iTunes, San Bruno, Calif.
Pat Higdon, Patrick Joseph Music
Clint Higham, Morris Artists Management Group
John Huie, Creative Artists Agency
Jan Jeffries, Cumulus Media, Chicago, Ill.
Kurt Johnson, Townsquare Media, Dallas, Texas
Michael Knox, Music Knox, LLC. and peermusic Nashville
Marion Kraft, ShopKeeper Management
Daren Lashinsky, National Shows 2
Ken Levitan, Vector Management
Luke Lewis
Jon Loba, Broken Bow Records
John Marks, Sirius XM Satellite Radio
Deb McDermott, Young Broadcasting
Kevin Neal, Buddy Lee Attractions
Gary Overton, Sony Music Nashville
Jason Owen, Sandbox Entertainment
John Paul, Dial Global Radio Networks, Englewood, Colo.
Brian Philips, CMT – Country Music Television
David Ross, BossRoss Media
Victoria Shaw, Victoria Shaw Songs
Mike Vaden, Decosimo Vaden
Larry Vallon, AEG Live, Los Angeles, Calif.
Ben Vaughn, Warner/Chappell Music
Ed Warm, Joe’s Bar, Chicago, Ill.

More than 11,000 music industry professionals and companies around the globe are members of the Country Music Association. Formed in 1958 as the first trade association for a single genre of music, the organization’s objectives are to serve as an educational and professional resource for the industry while advancing the growth of Country Music around the world. This is accomplished through CMA’s strategic imperatives – CMA Music Festival and the companion CMA Music Festival television special, the CMA Awards, and CMA’s latest television venture “CMA Country Christmas.” All of CMA’s TV properties air on the ABC Television Network through 2021. For information about CMA visit