CMA Presents Scott Borchetta with the Jo Walker-Meador Award

CMA Presents Scott Borchetta with the Jo Walker-Meador Award

NASHVILLE – The Country Music Association presented Scott Borchetta, President and CEO of Big Machine Label Group, with the Jo Walker-Meador Award Wednesday during the Association’s International Media Reception leading up to “The 46th Annual CMA Awards.”

Named for Country Music Hall of Fame member and longtime executive director of CMA – Jo Walker-Meador – the award recognizes outstanding achievement by an individual or company in advocating and supporting Country Music’s marketing development in territories outside the United States. The award was presented by Walker-Meador and Steve Moore, the Chief Executive Officer of CMA.

“It’s truly an amazing honor – and Jo it is great to have you here,” said Borchetta upon receiving the award. “She’s truly a living legend and when you look at her works, in a lifetime of loving this music, there’s probably nobody more important than Jo…And so, I am honored today.”

“Scott is a passionate proponent of Country Music,” said Moore. “He actively and successfully promotes our format across the globe and has raised the international profile of Country Music.”

Borchetta founded Big Machine in 2005. He was an early supporter and has been a consistent advocate of developing international markets for artists on his roster.

For example, Taylor Swift has toured and sold out major venues around the world. She has Platinum selling albums, topping radio and sales charts where Country Music is not traditionally popular in countries such as India.

The Band Perry, on the Republic Nashville imprint, recently visited the UK where they were well received by BBC Radio. The sibling group will be touring in Europe later in the year and their debut album The Band Perry will be released in five territories.

“Scott has a global vision and has opened the door for other Country Music artists,” Moore said. “He is helping to change the perception of Country Music internationally and very deserving of this award.”

Previous recipients of the Jo Walker-Meador Award include:
1994 Trisha Walker-Cunningham, TWI
1995 CMT: Country Music Television
1996 Bob Saporiti, Warner/Reprise Records Nashville
1997 Barry Coburn, Ten Ten Management
1998 Judy Seale, Refugee International
1999 Sarah Brosmer & Kate Farmer, MCA Nashville & Universal International
2000 Jeffrey Stothers, Gone Country Promotions
2001 Iain Snodgrass, Universal Music International, UK
2002 Sheila Hamilton, Canadian Country Music Association, Canada
2003 Meryl Gross, Australia
2004 Jeff Green, R&R, USA
2005 Greg Swain, Telstra, Australia
2006 Alan McBlane, Mcb3, UK
2007 Heather Ostertag, FACTOR, Canada
2008 Mark Moffatt, USA
2009 Michael Chugg, Michael Chugg Entertainment, Australia
2010 John Lomax III, Roots Music Exporters, USA
2011 Ralph Murphy, ASCAP, USA