CMA Songwriters Series Returns to Windy City July 30 at Joe's Bar

CMA Songwriters Series Returns to Windy City July 30 at Joe's Bar

Host Brett James Performs with Songwriters Jim Collins and Lee Thomas Miller as They Share Stories Behind Their Hit Songs

NASHVILLE – The CMA Songwriters Series returns to Chicago at Joe’s Bar Thursday, July 30 (8:30 PM/CT, doors at 7:00 PM/CT). Celebrating the stories behind Country Music’s greatest hits, this CMA Songwriters Series features songwriter and host Brett James performing alongside Jim Collins and Lee Thomas Miller.

James is a Grammy Award-winning producer and songwriter who has written more than 300 songs recorded by major label recording artists. He is a well-recognized name on the Billboard Country Chart with 13 No. 1 songs and a number of Top 20 singles to his credit. He is the only songwriter to appear on Billboard Magazine’s Top 10 Country songwriters list for five consecutive years. Artists who have recorded songs penned by James include Backstreet Boys, Dierks Bentley, Jon Bon Jovi, and Chicago. He received a Grammy Award in 2007 for Best Country Song for “Jesus Take The Wheel,” recorded by Carrie Underwood, which was also nominated for the 2006 CMA Song of the Year Award. James was most recently nominated for CMA Song of the Year in 2014 for Bentley’s “I Hold On.”

Headshot for Jim Collins
Jim Collins will perform during the CMA Songwriters Series returning to Joe’s Bar in Chicago on July 30. Photo Credit: Courtesy of Jim Collins

Collins has released three studio albums and has charted numerous singles on Billboard’s Hot Country Singles & Tracks Chart. More than 150 of his songs have been cut, including “She Thinks My Tractor’s Sexy” and “The Good Stuff” by Kenny Chesney; “Big Green Tractor” by Jason Aldean; and “It Just Comes Natural” by George Strait. He has received two Grammy Award nominations with “I Don’t Feel Like Loving You Today” recorded by Gretchen Wilson and “Are you Gonna Kiss Me Or Not” recorded by Thompson Square. He also wrote Easton Corbin’s current Top 10 single, “Baby Be My Love Song.”

Miller is credited with seven No. 1 songs and won the 2009 CMA Song of the Year Award with “In Color” co-written and recorded by Jamey Johnson. In 2008 he was nominated for CMA Song of the Year for “You’re Gonna Miss This” recorded by Trace Adkins. He has also written hit singles for Brad Paisley (“The World,” “Perfect Storm,” and “Crushin’ It”), Tim McGraw (“Southern Girl”), and Garth Brooks (“People Loving People”). Miller serves as President of the Board for the Nashville Songwriter’s Association International.

The CMA Songwriters Series is in its 11th season and second decade, kicking off the first shows of 2015 at the world famous Sundance Film Festival and continuing with shows in London, Nashville, and Washington, D.C. 2015 will also see the taping of a CMA Songwriters Series in Toronto to air on CMT Canada as well as the continued partnership with public television’s “Front and Center” to present the CMA Songwriters Series on U.S. television.

Since 2005, the CMA Songwriters Series has presented more than 90 shows in 15 cities including Austin, Belfast, Chicago, Dublin, London, Los Angeles, New York, Paris, Phoenix, and Washington, D.C. at the renowned Library of Congress. Some of the artists who have been part of the series include Bentley, Clint Black, Kix Brooks, Chesney, Sara Evans, Hunter Hayes, Lady Antebellum, Martina McBride, Darius Rucker, Josh Turner, Underwood, Chris Young, and more.

Tickets for the July 30 CMA Songwriters Series at Joe’s Bar are on sale now. To order tickets, visit,, or the onsite box office at Joe’s Bar open daily between the hours of 10:00 AM and 10:00 PM/CT. Joe’s Bar is located at 940 W. Weed St. in Chicago. JOE’S IS A 21 AND OLDER VENUE. You must be 21+ to attend all shows and events.

For more information on the CMA Songwriters Series, visit

Headshot for songwriter Lee Thomas Miller
Lee Thomas Miller will perform during the CMA Songwriters Series returning to Joe’s Bar in Chicago on July 30. Photo Credit: Courtesy of Lee Thomas Miller