CMA Songwriters Series Strikes A Chord At Tin Pan South Songwriters Festival

CMA Songwriters Series Strikes A Chord At Tin Pan South Songwriters Festival

NASHVILLE – CMA Songwriters Series returned to Tin Pan South Songwriters Festival Friday featuring a powerhouse lineup to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the revered event. Songwriting legend Jim Beavers performed with CMA Award nominees Bob DiPiero and Richie McDonald, and CMA Song of the Year winner Lee Thomas Miller at 3rd and Lindsley while sharing the stories behind their hit songs.

Top tunesmith Beavers has tallied numerous songwriting awards and No. 1 singles, including Dierks Bentley’s “What Was I Thinkin’,” Luke Bryan’s “Drink a Beer,” and Canaan Smith’s “Love You Like That.” His songs have been cut by Billy Currington, Faith Hill, Toby Keith, Tim McGraw, Chris Stapleton, Josh Turner, and many others. He serves on the CMA Board of Directors and also on NSAI’s Board of Directors.

DiPiero has received two nominations for CMA Album of the Year for his production work on Brooks & Dunn’s Hillbilly Deluxe (2006) and Cowboy Town (2008). His songs have been recorded by a variety of top-selling artists including Vince Gill, Etta James, Martina McBride, Reba, and George Strait. DiPiero’s collection of notable No. 1 songs includes “Southern Voice” recorded by McGraw, “If You Ever Stop Loving Me” by Montgomery Gentry, and “Daddy’s Money” taken to the top of the charts by Ricochet. He also serves on the CMA Board of Directors.

CMA Award winner McDonald has been nominated for 10 CMA Awards as the lead singer of Lonestar. The group was nominated for CMA Single of the Year in both 1999 and 2001 and was nominated for CMA Vocal Group of the Year every year from 1999 through 2006, claiming the trophy for Vocal Group in 2001. McDonald has written songs for a myriad of artists, including Sara Evans, John Michael Montgomery, and Clay Walker.

Miller was nominated for CMA Song of the Year in 2008 for co-writing the hit “In Color,” recorded by Jamey Johnson. In 2009, he went on to win his first CMA Award for co-writing Trace Adkins’ “You’re Gonna Miss This.” Miller earned his first No. 1 single with Joe Nichols’ “The Impossible,” which was followed by a string of more No. 1’s including Terri Clark’s “I Just Wanna Be Mad,” McGraw’s “Southern Girl,” and Brad Paisley’s “The World,” “I’m Still a Guy,” and “Perfect Storm.” Other chart-topping acts who have recorded Miller’s songs include Garth Brooks, Brothers Osborne, and Thomas Rhett. As President of NSAI’s Board of Directors, he has advocated for songwriters’ rights on Capitol Hill.

Currently in its 13th season, CMA Songwriters Series kicked off 2017 at indigo at The O2 in London during the sold-out C2C Festival, the U.K.’s largest Country Music Festival. Since 2005, CMA Songwriters Series has presented more than 100 shows in 17 cities including Austin, Belfast, Chicago, Dublin, London, Los Angeles, New York, Paris, Phoenix, and Washington, D.C. at the renowned Library of Congress. Some of the artists and songwriters who have been part of the series include Bentley, Kix Brooks, Kristian Bush, Kenny Chesney, Hunter Hayes, Lady Antebellum, Miranda Lambert, McBride, Maren Morris, Darius Rucker, Carrie Underwood, Drake White, Chris Young, and more.

CMA Songwriters Series continues reaching audiences nationwide through a partnership between CMA and Public Television’s acclaimed series “Front and Center.” Check local listings.