CMA Songwriters Series Travels To Austin For SXSW Debut

CMA Songwriters Series Travels To Austin For SXSW Debut

2014 CMA Song of the Year Award Winners Kacey Musgraves and Shane McAnally will be Joined by Hit Songwriter Josh Osborne

Musgraves and McAnally to Visit With Local Children on Behalf of the CMA Foundation

NASHVILLE – The critically-acclaimed CMA Songwriters Series returns to Austin to make its official South by Southwest Festival debut at the Paramount Theatre Saturday, March 19 (8:00 PM/CT). The lineup consists of 2014 CMA Song of the Year Award winners Kacey Musgraves and Shane McAnally, who will be joined by hit songwriter and two-time CMA Awards nominee Josh Osborne.

“This trio of writers represents the highest echelon of talent for the current era of Country Music,” said Sarah Trahern, CMA Chief Executive Officer. “CMA is excited to partner with another prestigious festival like South by Southwest and expose different audiences to the incredible songwriting talent in the Country community.”

2016 marks the 50th Anniversary of the CMA Awards and with a combined 23 CMA Award nominations, including nine for Song of the Year, these writers embody the recent history of Country Music’s Biggest Night™.

The day of their Songwriters Series performance, Musgraves and McAnally will meet with local children on behalf of the CMA Foundation. The pair will host a songwriting Q&A session and perform for the group at the future home of the Austin chapter of Foundation beneficiary program Notes for Notes. The CMA Foundation focuses on improving and sustaining music education programs everywhere, while supporting worthwhile causes important to CMA.

Musgraves is a 12-time CMA Awards nominee who claimed trophies for New Artist (2013) and Song of the Year (2014) for penning her hit “Follow Your Arrow,” which Rolling Stone listed at No. 39 on their list of 100 Greatest Country Songs of All Time. A Texas-native and Nashville-based singer/songwriter, Musgraves released her Mercury Records Nashville debut album, Same Trailer Different Park, in the spring of 2013 to massive critical acclaim and recognition. The album, which she co-produced with McAnally and Luke Laird, debuted at No. 1 on Billboard’s Top Country Albums chart making her the first solo female in five years to open at No. 1 with a rookie release, and just seventh in the 22-year Nielson SoundScan era. The Gold album includes her Top 10, Platinum single “Merry Go ‘Round” and Gold hit “Follow Your Arrow.” 

Last year, Musgraves released her highly-anticipated sophomore album, Pageant Material, on June 23, and it debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard Country albums chart and No.3 on the Billboard 200. Musgraves co-wrote all tracks on the album and also co-produced, teaming up again with McAnally and Laird. Pageant Material includes debut single “Biscuits” and “Dime Store Cowgirl.” The album has been met with massive critical acclaim and recognition from press outlets all over the world. Her recent tour, “The Kacey Musgraves Country & Western Rhinestone Review,” launched this past August and sold-out famous venues all over the world, including the famed Royal Albert Hall in London. The spring leg of the tour began Jan. 21 in Dallas.

McAnally has written and produced hits with well-known artists including Luke Bryan, Kenny Chesney, Kelly Clarkson, Sam Hunt, Lady Antebellum, Musgraves, Jake Owen, Reba, and many more. He has received nine CMA Awards nominations and six Grammy nods, and in 2014, he was awarded CMA Song of the Year, along with fellow co-writer Musgraves, for “Follow Your Arrow.” He also took home two Grammys in 2014 for collaborations with Musgraves, including Best Country Album for Same Trailer Different Park and Best Country Song for “Merry Go ‘Round.” In 2015, McAnally was named the top Songwriter of the Year on the Billboard Hot Country list and was tapped as one of Billboard’s Nashville Power Players. McAnally is a CMA Board member and a four-time recipient of CMA’s coveted Triple Play Award for penning three No. 1 songs in a 12 month period (12 total).

Osborne’s work has been recorded by Dierks Bentley, Chesney, Faith Hill, Hunt, Tim McGraw, and Blake Shelton, among many others. The two-time CMA Awards nominee’s hit singles include “Sangria” (Shelton), “John Cougar, John Deere, John 3:16” (Keith Urban), and his first No. 1 song “Come Over” (Chesney). With 10 No. 1s and multiple awards under his belt, including a Grammy for “Merry Go ‘Round” and an ASCAP Award, Osborne most recently received recognition from the CMA for his second Triple Play Award, celebrating No. 1 songs “Leave The Night On” and “Take Your Time” recorded by Hunt; and “Wild Child,” performed by Chesney and Grace Potter.

The CMA Songwriters Series is in its 12th season kicking off the first show of this year at indigo at The O2 in London during the C2C Festival. Since 2005, the CMA Songwriters Series has presented more than 90 shows in 15 cities including Austin, Belfast, Chicago, Dublin, London, Los Angeles, New York, Paris, Phoenix, and Washington, D.C. at the renowned Library of Congress.

The CMA Songwriters Series continues reaching audiences nationwide through a partnership between CMA and public television’s acclaimed series “Front and Center.” To date, 11 episodes have been taped and air nationwide on public television (check local listings). One episode features McAnally alongside Brandy Clark, Bob DiPiero, and Charlie Worsham. Other episodes collectively feature Bentley, Ronnie Dunn, Brett Eldredge, Evans, Hunter Hayes, Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town, Kip Moore, Martina McBride, Darius Rucker, Steven Tyler, and their many songwriter collaborators.

CMA Songwriters Series at South by Southwest will be held Saturday, March 19 (8:00 PM/CT) at the Paramount Theatre. This showcase will be open to SXSW Music and Platinum badge-holders, and Music and Showcasing Artist wristband-holders. Limited tickets will go on sale Thursday, March 10. The Paramount Theatre is located at 713 Congress Ave., Austin, Texas 78701. Their box office can be reached at (512) 472-5470. For more information on the CMA Songwriters Series, visit