It’s Balloting Season at CMA!

It’s Balloting Season at CMA!

NASHVILLE – CMA balloting season is here! Beginning Monday, May 6, the Country Music Association will be accepting online submissions for the 2013 CMA Broadcast Awards for Broadcast Personality, Station, and National Broadcast Personality of the Year at

“CMA celebrates the hard work of Country radio and its significant contribution to the format,” said CMA Chief Executive Officer, Steve Moore. “We consider it an honor to spotlight the best stations and on-air personalities in Country radio each year with the CMA Broadcast Awards.”

Categories for submission include Broadcast Personality in four different market sizes (major, large, medium, and small) as well as CMA National Broadcast Personality of the Year. To submit an entry, CMA member radio stations and broadcast personalities in the U.S. and Canada should log on, where guidelines and instructions for entries are posted. The site will continue to accept submissions until Friday, June 28 (5:00 PM/CT).

All entries must reflect performances and events between June 1, 2012 and May 31, 2013. CMA’s panel of judges, which includes distinguished radio and industry professionals, will be able to view and evaluate each entry online.

CMA Broadcast Award winners will be notified in early October and recognized at “The 47th Annual CMA Awards,” which will be held later this year in Nashville. The annual gala, which is known as “Country Music’s Biggest Night™,” will be broadcast live on the ABC Television Network.

The 2013 CMA Awards nominees and winners are determined by more than 7,000 professional members of CMA, which was the first trade organization formed to promote an individual genre of music in 1958. The eligibility period for the 2013 CMA Awards is July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013. All voting for “The 47th Annual CMA Awards” will be conducted online.

The first ballot and instructions will be emailed Thursday, July 11 to CMA members in good standing who are eligible to vote. Voting for the first ballot closes Monday, July 22 (5:00 PM/CT).

The second ballot will be emailed to CMA members Tuesday, Aug. 20. Voting for the second ballot closes Friday, Aug. 30(5:00 PM/CT). The final nominees in each of the 12 categories will be announced in September.

Winners of “The 47th Annual CMA Awards” will be determined in a final round of voting by eligible voting CMA members. The third and final ballot will be emailed to CMA members Thursday, Oct. 10. Voting for the CMA Awards final ballot ends Monday, Oct. 28 (5:00 PM/CT). All balloting is officiated by the international accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP.

The first “CMA Awards Banquet and Show” was held in 1967. The following year, the CMA Awards was broadcast on television for the first time – making it the longest running, annual music awards program on network TV. The Awards have aired on ABC since 2006. ABC will be the network home of the CMA Awards and CMA’s other two television properties, “CMA Music Festival: Country’s Night to Rock” and “CMA Country Christmas,” through 2021.