Landmark Radio Initiative Drives Awareness of The 48th Annual CMA Awards

Landmark Radio Initiative Drives Awareness of The 48th Annual CMA Awards

Hosted for the Seventh Time by Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood, “The 48th Annual CMA Awards” Airs Live Wednesday, Nov. 5 on the ABC Television Network

NASHVILLE – For the first time in the history of the Country Music Association and any awards show, competitive Country radio groups are putting aside their individual business agendas to help promote “The 48th Annual CMA Awards” by participating collaboratively in radio remotes that are produced entirely by CMA.

“This is historic for CMA and the industry to have these very competitive radio groups working together to advance the format and help drive awareness and tune-in for ‘Country Music’s Biggest Night’,” said Sarah Trahern, Chief Executive Officer of CMA.

“For the past 19 years, CMA worked exclusively with a single radio partner to produce the Awards remotes, but this new inclusive model gives all radio groups the opportunity to participate and significantly increases our reach to cover virtually every Country radio market,” said Damon Whiteside, CMA Senior VP of Marketing and Strategic Partnerships.

This year’s landmark CMA Awards Radio Remotes will feature unprecedented radio participation never before created for any awards show, including the top radio groups, individual stations, and nationally syndicated personalities.

This year’s remote will take place on Monday, Nov. 3 and Tuesday, Nov. 4 (9:00 AM-3:00 PM/CT) in the Davidson Ballroom at the Music City Center. Hosted for the seventh time by Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood, “The 48th Annual CMA Awards” airs live Wednesday, Nov. 5 (8:00-11:00 PM/ET) on the ABC Television Network.

Stations can expect a very similar experience to previous years with studio set-ups, artist participation, and the necessary tools to personalize their individual broadcasts. Industry veteran Ellen Appleton, who has been designing, building, and producing radio remotes for 18 years, will produce the CMA Awards Radio Remotes.

CMA worked closely with the CMA Board of Directors Radio Committee to come up with the list of owner groups to approach for participation this year including Alpha, Beasley, Clear Channel, Cox, Cumulus, Curtis, Emmis, Entercom, Journal, Key Market, Lincoln, Max Media, Rogers Radio (Canada), Townsquare, and others.

The CMA Awards nominees and winners are determined by more than 7,400 professional members of CMA, which was the first trade organization formed to promote an individual genre of music in 1958. Winners of “The 48th Annual CMA Awards” will be determined in a final round of voting by eligible members of CMA. CMA Awards balloting is officiated by the international accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP.

Tickets for “The 48th Annual CMA Awards” go on sale to the public Saturday, Sept. 6 (10:00 AM/CT). Tickets can be purchased at; by calling (800) 745-3000; or in person at the Bridgestone Arena Box Office, located at 501 Broadway (corner of Fifth Avenue and Broadway, Nashville). CMA Awards information is available at Or follow the conversation on Twitter at #CMAawards.

“The 48th Annual CMA Awards” is a production of the Country Music Association. Robert Deaton is the Executive Producer and Paul Miller is the Director. The CMA Awards will be shot in high definition and broadcast in 720 Progressive (720P), ABC’s selected HDTV format, with 5.1 channel surround sound.

Chevrolet™ is the Official Ride of Country Music.