Nashville Mayor Karl Dean Presented with CMA Founding President's Award

Nashville Mayor Karl Dean Presented with CMA Founding President's Award

NASHVILLE – Nashville Mayor Karl Dean’s many contributions to the music industry in Music City were recognized during the CMA Board of Directors meetings in Nashville today when Dean was presented the CMA Founding President’s Award by CMA Board President Ed Hardy.

“Mayor Dean has been a constant and ardent supporter of CMA and the music industry,” said Hardy. “Music is a powerful tool and under his leadership, the Music City brand has achieved new heights as a positive, differentiating identity for our community. The CMA Board of Directors values our relationship with the Mayor, as well as his commitment to make Nashville a better place to live and do business.”

The Founding President’s Award was established by the Board of Directors in 1963 in honor of CMA’s first Board President Connie B. Gay. The Award is given in recognition of that person (or persons) who is not currently serving as a Director of the Association, and who in the Board’s opinion has rendered the most outstanding service to the Country Music Association in the current year.

At the Board meeting, Hardy praised Mayor Dean’s leadership and passion for Country Music, and tireless efforts on behalf of the format in Nashville, including formation in 2009 of the Music City Music Council, which focuses on economic development by working to recruit entertainment companies and visitors to Nashville; contributing to the success of CMA Music Festival with the opening this year of the Music City Center; and his ongoing support of Music Makes Us and CMA’s Keep the Music Playing, which has donated more than $7.1 million to support music education programs in Metro Nashville Public Schools.

Mayor Dean is the sixth mayor of the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County. He was elected on Sept. 11, 2007 and was re-elected on Aug. 4, 2011 to serve a second term. During his time in office, Dean has led Nashville through two big challenges – a deep national recession and a 1,000-year flood – and has still made progress on his priorities of education, public safety, and economic development. He also works diligently on efforts to sustain and improve Nashville’s high quality of life.

Founded in 1958, the Country Music Association was the first trade organization formed to promote a type of music. More than 7,000 music industry professionals and companies around the globe are members of CMA. The organization’s objectives are to serve as an educational and professional resource for the industry while advancing the growth of Country Music around the world. This is accomplished through CMA’s core initiatives: the annual CMA Awards, “Country Music’s Biggest Night™”; CMA Music Festival and companion primetime television special; and “CMA’s Country Christmas,” which airs Monday, Dec. 2 (9:00-11:00 PM/ET). All of CMA’s television properties will air on ABC through 2021. For information about CMA visit

Past winners Include:
1963 – Richard Frank
1964 – Joe Allison
1965 – Robert J. Burton
1966 – Pack Ackerman
1967 – Gene Nash and LeRoy Van Dyke
1968 – Owen Bradley
1969 – Johnny Cash
1970 – Frank Clement
1971 – Ken Nelson
1972 – Tex Ritter
1973 – Frank Jones
1974 – Jack Stapp
1975 – Hubert Long
1976 – Roy Horton
1977 – Hal Cook
1978 – Bob Tubert
1979 – Ben Smathers
1980 – Charlie Daniels
1981 – Roy Acuff
1982 – Bob Boatman
1983 – Mary Ann McCready
1984 – Frank Mull
1985 – Jim Halsey
1986 – Merrill Warner
1987 – Paul Conroy
1988 – Ron Huntsman
1989 – Michael Sukin
1990 – Allen Brown
1991 – Bob Saporiti
1992 – Jim Free
1993 – Fred Rappoport
1994 – Helen Farmer
1995 – Cindy Wilson
1996 – Marc Oswald
1997 – Trisha Yearwood
1998 – Pam Tillis
1999 – Martina McBride
2000 – Wayne Halper
2001 – Mayor Bill Purcell
2002 – Brad Paisley
2003 – Wynonna Judd
2004 – Terri Clark
2005 – Blue Country