Reba and The Band Perry Congratulate 2013 CMA Broadcast Awards Winners

Reba and The Band Perry Congratulate 2013 CMA Broadcast Awards Winners

NASHVILLE – Six-time CMA Awards winner Reba McEntire and CMA Awards nominees The Band Perry surprised radio stations and personalities around the country today with news of their 2013 CMA Broadcast Awards wins.

The Band Perry kicked off the morning by calling the Radio Station and Major, Large, Medium, and Small Market Broadcast Personality of the Year winners, with Reba delivering the good news to the National Broadcast Personality of the Year winner this afternoon.

“The importance of radio is unparalleled in our format,” said Ed Hardy, President of the CMA Board of Directors. “These folks are dedicated champions for Country Music, and we are glad to honor them for their outstanding contributions.”

The winners of the 2013 CMA Broadcast Awards are:

2013 CMA Broadcast Personality of the Year Winners

National – Kix Brooks, “American Country Countdown” – Cumulus Media Networks

Major Market – “The Doc and Andie Show” (Ken Medek, Andie Summers, and Kevin Crockett) – WXTU, Philadelphia, Pa.

Large Market – “Q Morning Crew” (Mike Wheless, Marty Young, and Janie Carothers) – WQDR, Raleigh-Durham, N.C.

Medium Market – “Andy and Alison and the Morning Crew” (Andy Ritchie, Alison West, and Jimmy Holt) – WIVK, Knoxville, Tenn.

Small Market – “The Good Morning Guys” (Brian Gary, Todd Harding, and Susan Moore) – KUAD, Ft. Collins-Greeley, Colo.

2013 CMA Radio Station of the Year Winners

Major Market – KUPL – Portland, Ore.

Large Market – WCTK – Providence-Warwick-Pawtucket, R.I.

Medium Market – KSSN – Little Rock, Ark.

Small Market – WLLR – Quad Cities-Davenport-Rock Island, Iowa/Moline, Ill.

The categories are established by market size based on population as ranked by Arbitron. Entries for Broadcast Personality of the Year are judged on aircheck, ratings, community involvement, and biographical information. Candidates for Station of the Year are judged on aircheck, ratings history, community involvement, and format leadership.

Three finalists are selected for National Broadcast Personality of the Year. To be eligible, candidates must be syndicated, short-form, hub voice-tracking, and satellite personalities heard in at least three markets with a minimum of 40 shows per year.

CMA received a record number of entries in 2013. Normally, five finalists are selected for CMA Broadcast Personality and CMA Radio Station of the Year in four categories: Small, Medium, Large, and Major Market. However, the categories this year were especially competitive with ties in three categories. Large Market Personality of the Year had seven nominees vying for the trophy, while Small Market Personality of the Year and Major Market Station of the Year each had six contenders.

CMA members who are full-time, on-air personalities and CMA member radio stations in the United States and Canada were eligible to enter. The entries are judged by a panel of distinguished broadcast professionals, representing all market sizes and regions.

An aggregate score of the first round of judging and the second round, which is done by a different panel of judges, determined the winners. The international accounting firm of Deloitte & Touche LLP tabulated scoring by the judges. CMA Broadcast Award winners are not eligible to enter in consecutive years; therefore, those who received trophies in 2012 were not eligible in 2013.

Winners will be recognized at “The 47th Annual CMA Awards” to be held Wednesday, Nov. 6 (8:00-11:00 PM/ET) and broadcast live on the ABC Television Network from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville. Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood return to host “Country Music’s Biggest Night™” for the sixth time.

“The 47th Annual CMA Awards” is a production of the Country Music Association. Robert Deaton is the Executive Producer, Paul Miller is the Director, and David Wild is the writer. The special will be shot in high definition and broadcast in 720 Progressive (720P), ABC’s selected HDTV format, with 5.1 channel surround sound.

For more information, visit

Chevrolet™ is the Official Ride of Country Music. American Airlines is the Official Airline of the CMA Awards.