CMA Honors Frank Bumstead And Dick McCullough With 2022 J. William Denny Award


Additional Industry Members Recognized During CMA’s Board of Directors Gathering

CMA has presented its 2022 J. William Denny Award to two highly-deserving industry veterans—business manager Frank Bumstead and advertising executive Dick McCullough. The J. William Denny Award is presented in recognition and appreciation of a lifetime of dedication, distinguished service and meritorious contributions to the CMA Board of Directors. Bumstead attended CMA’s Board of Directors meeting this week in Nashville to receive the honor, while McCullough accepted his award via Zoom.

As a founding owner and business manager at the entertainment business management firm FBMM, Bumstead has over 40 years of experience as a professional financial adviser and business manager. He served on the CMA Board for 12 years and played an important role in directing the financial stability of the organization through his service on CMA’s Finance & Audit Committee. In addition to serving in leadership positions on many committees, he assumed the role of Chairman in 2015.

An advertising executive who was instrumental in broadening and exposing Country Music’s brand to mainstream audiences in the 1980s and 1990s, McCullough was a strong proponent of CMA’s role in promoting Country Music around the globe. He served on the CMA Board for 20 years, including back-to-back years as President in 1984 and 1985.

In addition to Bumstead and McCullough, CMA recognized several long-serving Board members for their contributions to the organization. Jim Beavers (CMA Board Chairman and songwriter) presented the CMA Chairman’s Award to two of his predecessors—Mary Hilliard Harrington (2021 CMA Board Chairman and Red Light Management Senior Manager) and Kurt Johnson (2020 CMA Board Chairman and Townsquare Media President, Local Programming)—for their unwavering guidance to the organization and the Country Music industry at large throughout the pandemic. During an intimate dinner, Beavers applauded both for their leadership while navigating the unprecedented time with grace and compassion.

During the dinner, CMA Chief Executive Officer Sarah Trahern also presented mementos to Beavers and Charlie Morgan (CMA Board President and Apple Music President) in recognition of their service to the CMA Board of Directors this year. Beavers was presented a crystal gavel while Morgan was presented a crystal globe.

Business manager Frank Bumstead receives the 2022 J. William Denny Award during CMA’s Board of Directors meeting on Wednesday, Nov. 30. L-R: Sarah Trahern (CMA Chief Executive Officer), Bumstead, and Jim Beavers (CMA Board Chairman and songwriter).
Photo Credit: Jamie Schramm/CMA