Awards and Honors

Awards and Honors

CMA presents many annual industry accolades. Some of the honors require an extensive balloting process, specifically the CMA Awards, CMA Broadcast Awards, CMA Touring Awards, International Awards, and Country Music Hall of Fame. Awards Ballots will be tabulated by the professional services organization Deloitte & Touche LLP


The CMA Awards nominees and winners are determined by the more than 7,300 industry professional members of CMA, which when established in 1958 became the first trade organization formed to promote an individual genre of music. The first CMA Awards Banquet and Show was held in 1967, and is the longest running, annual music awards program on network television, and currently airs each November on ABC Television Network.

Luke Bryan performs “What Makes You Country” alongside Luke Combs, Cole Swindell, Ashley McBryde, Lindsay Ell, Jon Pardi & Chris Janson at “The 52nd Annual CMA Awards,” on Wednesday, November 14, 2018; live from Bridgestone Arena in Downtown Nashville on ABC.
broadcast cover CROP


The CMA Broadcast Awards are among the most prestigious awards given out in the field of Country Radio. The categories are established by market size based on population as ranked by Arbitron. Entries for Broadcast Personality of the Year are judged on aircheck, ratings, community involvement, and biographical information. Candidates for Station of the Year are judged on aircheck, ratings history, community involvement, and format leadership. CMA members who are full-time, on-air personalities and CMA member radio stations in the United States and Canada are eligible. The entries are judged by a panel of distinguished broadcast professionals, representing all market sizes and regions.


CMA created the Country Music Hall of Fame in 1961 to recognize individuals for their outstanding contributions to the format with Country Music’s highest honor. Inductees are chosen by CMA’s Hall of Fame Panels of Electors, which consist of anonymous voters appointed by the CMA Board of Directors.

Members are inducted during a special Medallion Ceremony at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum in the CMA Theater. During the Medallion Ceremony, friends and colleagues pay tribute to each inductee through words and song. Each inductees’ bronze plaque is unveiled that will be on display in the Museum’s rotunda.

2017 Country Music Hall of Fame inductees are announced on Wednesday, April 5, 2017 at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum in Nashville, Tenn.


The CMA Touring Awards, previously known as the SRO (Standing Room Only) Awards, were originally created by the CMA Board of Directors in 1990 to honor outstanding professional achievement within the touring industry.

Only CMA members in the Advertising/Public Relations/Media, Affiliated, Artist, Entertainment Services, International, Marketing/Digital, Musician, Personal Manager, Record Company, Talent Agent, Talent Buyer/Promoter, Touring Personnel, and Venue categories vote for the CMA Touring Awards.


The Triple Play Awards are presented to songwriters and artists who have written three No. 1 songs in a 12-month period. There are three charts recognized in the criteria, Billboard Country Airplay, Billboard Hot Country Songs, and Country Aircheck.

In 2010, the first Triple Play Awards were presented during the annual Songwriters Luncheon in Nashville. The inaugural Awards were held in October but have since moved to January/February.

CMA Triple Play Awards on February 20, 2018. Photos by Donn Jones Photography


CMA Industry Honors consist of awards that recognize specific outstanding achievements made by individuals in the Country Music industry. CMA members can nominate individuals for these honors annually, however, the CMA Board ultimately determines and approves any recipients.


CMA International Awards honor Country Music’s top professional working and creating success in Country Music outside of the United States. These Awards are determined by the CMA Members residing outside of the United States along with a select domestic panel.

Scott Borchetta receives Jeff Walker global award - 2015 (002)